Sunday, November 12, 2006


Many people refer to apes, such as chimpanzees, as monkeys, but scientists do not consider them to be monkeys. Monkeys are broken up into 2 groups: New World and Old World. Because there are so many species of monkeys, there are few traits that they all share. However, there are a few general characteristics that they have in common. New World monkeys have prehensile tails, meaning they can grasp with and hang by their tail, while Old World monkeys cannot. Monkeys either live in trees or in grasslands, and eat mainly fruits, seeds, and insects. Unfortunately, many monkeys, as well as apes, are used in laboratory testing worldwide each year. Visit the International Primate Protection League to find out what you can do to protect these wonderful animals! And don't forget to take a look at these cool monkey gifts:

M is for Monkey Mug

Robot Monkey Shop

Sock Monkey Shop

Monkey Art Shop

Monkey Gifts


Post a Comment

<< Home